Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 8:49pm
Quote: The hardness of the butter is proportional to the softness of the bread

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Pressure drop with condensing boiler (Read 6358 times)
edwardgeorge
GDPR opt-out

Pressure drop with condensing boiler
Dec 29th, 2008, 10:38am

New condensing boiler fitted 1 year ago. Water pressure is ok [legal/authority requirement]. When shower is used & downstairs taps hot or cold used pressure/flow drops at shower & temperature sometimes changes. How can we overcome this please? A pump on th incomer?
« Last Edit: Dec 29th, 2008, 10:40am by edwardgeorge »  

IP Logged

Zambezi
GDPR opt-out

Re: Pressure drop with condensing boiler
Reply #1 - Dec 29th, 2008, 11:30am

The temperature issue can be improved by fitting a thermostatic shower, which should regulate the water temp when the water pressure changes.
As for pumping the mains, I am no expert but it is probably not advised. Your boiler can also only heat up a limited amount of water at a time so you may get luke warm water instead of hot.
I am sure one of the plumbers will be along shortly....

IP Logged

CWatters

"Daddy fick it" says James

Total Thanks: 58
For This Post: 0

Reply #2 - Dec 29th, 2008, 2:44pm

I'm not a plumber but..

If running a cold tap drops the flow rate on the hot then that sounds like a problem with the incoming main or the pipework between main and boiler. Check all valves are fully open.

It sounds like you already suspect the incoming main is the problem... Have you measured the static pressure and flow rate where it enters the house?

1) If the static pressure is good but the flow rate is poor then two solutions exist. In order of preference.. a) New fatter pipe from main to house. or b) a pressure accumulator..  
http://www.plumbingpark.co.uk/plumbing_hvac_article12316.html
http://www.modbs.co.uk/news/fullstory.php/aid/5100/Are_you_feeling_the_pressure_...