Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 9:16pm
Quote: A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it is written on - Samuel Goldwyn

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Flashing on plastic corrugated sheet (Read 10137 times)
AndrewR
GDPR opt-out

Flashing on plastic corrugated sheet
Mar 8th, 2009, 9:34am

Can someone please advise me on the best type of flashing to use on clear plastic corrugated sheet?
I intend to cover a pergola roof that is adjecent to our house. It is built with a slight 10 degree fall away from the building so I can cover it.
I've never worked with flashing before. I'm uncertain of how easy it would be to mould the flahing to the undulations of the corrugated sheet.
Also, it seems easier and cheaper to choose the adhesive flashing strip but my house bricks are textured and so I would like some advice on whether this type of flashing forms a good bond with textured bricks?
Thank you for any advice
Andrew

IP Logged

greg
GDPR opt-out

Re: Flashing on plastic corrugated sheet
Reply #1 - Mar 8th, 2009, 9:37am

I personally do not like the self adhesive flashings and would lean towards lead

IP Logged

Zambezi
GDPR opt-out

Reply #2 - Mar 8th, 2009, 11:08am

You may be able to buy pre-formed flashing that will do the job. Try and find the manufacturer of the plastic sheeting and see what accessories they offer. Something like this...
http://www.screwfix.com/search.do;jsessionid=L1BVGIA1MHQKCCSTHZOCFGA?_dyncharset...

I agree with Greg, the self adhesive flashing never seems to last and can be messy/difficult to fit.

IP Logged

AndrewR
GDPR opt-out

Reply #3 - Mar 8th, 2009, 3:07pm

That pre-moulded flashing from Screwfix looks good, but it's quite expensive and there doesn't appear to be one for the clear corrugated sheet.
On the subject of lead flashing, is it easy to shape to fit onto the corrugated sheet?

IP Logged

woodsmith
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 135