Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Apr 20th, 2024, 3:43am
Quote: There are two kinds of pedestrians: the quick and the dead.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
surface water nightmare! (Read 3174 times)
Jamesp
GDPR opt-out

surface water nightmare!
Oct 16th, 2014, 12:27pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to this so apologies if this isn't the right place to ask this. My mum was building a house, but died suddenly leaving me (a drum teacher!) in charge and out of my depth with finishing it! Everything has gone reasonably ok, except for the surface water drainage.

The house is in Haywards Heath and southern water have denied sewerage access for the surface water, and since we don't have the space in the garden allowed for a soakaway, the only option we have been given is to dig 30 metres along to a busy B road which would have to be probably be closed off for a day, so we can tap in to the closest surface drainage.

I was just wandering first off how much something like this would cost?? I imagine tens of thousands of pounds! Does anyone know of any other potential alternatives, above board preferably!

Its very frustrating considering we have  foul sewer access in our garden but have to potentially pay an insane amount of money to divert the rain water from such a small house across so far!

Anyway! If anyone is knowledgeable with this sort of thing I would be very grateful to hear from you!

Many thanks

James

View members image gallery  
IP Logged

CWatters

"Daddy fick it" says James

Total Thanks: 58
For This Post: 0

Re: surface water nightmare!
Reply #1 - Oct 17th, 2014, 11:44pm

It's very common for water companies not to allow surface water to be put into foul drains.