Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 9:38pm
Quote: If you can think of a random quote - Let us know!!

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Reroofing and loft insulation (Read 6291 times)
Sarah
GDPR opt-out

Reroofing and loft insulation
Jan 26th, 2015, 7:01pm

Hi there

Sorry if I break any etiquette or rules but I'm a newbie!

I'm looking to get quotes to have my roof reslated and I've read that it's most likely I'll need my insulation upgraded in my loft. I'm also looking at getting my loft boarded out but I just wondered if my loft was boarded out, would I have to get up the boarding to add more insulation or use an alternative? There isn't a great deal of head height in my loft so I don't really want a massive thick insulation and then have to use spacers and board over it. This is the reason I thought of boarding it first, then doing the roof if I can get away without having new insulation.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Sarah

IP Logged

thescruff
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Who said plumbing was
easy.

Total Thanks: 147
For This Post: 0

Trade: Plumber

Re: Reroofing and loft insulation
Reply #1 - Jan 26th, 2015, 11:53pm

Have a word with the roofer/builder you may be able to use 100mm Celotex or similar between the rafters

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

woodsmith
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 135

Trade: Joiner

Reply #2 - Jan 27th, 2015, 9:23am