Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 12:51pm
Quote: Why is lemon juice made with artificial flavor, and dishwashing liquid made with real lemons?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Starting up self-employed. (Read 4854 times)
BigBad

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Starting up self-employed.
Jun 10th, 2004, 5:54am

Hi all,
I am just about to take the plunge into self-employed status, which will confront me with a whole new list of problems and questions which I hope to either deal with or bluff my way past!

The reason I am writing though is that I have very little experience in estimating the work of house wiring etc and how to go about charging a client for it.  

Can anyone give some guidelines on what sort of monetary figures we could be looking at for wiring traditional build houses and how to agree price work figures without ending up on a loser? Some ideas of past experiences would be of excellent help to me.

I'm an Approved spark and BS7671 qualified by the way.

I would like to keep this thread updated with my progress down this path of self-employment as I go.  

Wish me luck!

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

rabbit_rabbit
Re: Starting up self-employed.
Reply #1 - Jun 10th, 2004, 7:57am

I wish you luck in your new adventure.

It sounds like you are preparing to do commercial work - wiring of new houses etc.? This being the case I am unable to help you much as I have been out of commercial for a long time andonly do domestic work.

BUT, like domestic I would think it is very regional. I say this based on other threads related to this subject both here and on other forums.

Sorry I cannot be of greater help. By the way for domestic work where I am (Hampshire) £25 to £30 per hour is a 'going rate' - plus materials of course.

RR

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

Gerrin2old
Reply #2 - Jun 13th, 2004, 4:06pm

Hi BB,