Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 29th, 2024, 2:21am
Quote: The lottery is a tax on people who are bad at maths - Ambrose Bierce (1842)

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
BAL Multibase (Read 9768 times)
AndyOlds

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Whitley bay, United Kingdom
Whitley bay
United Kingdom

BAL Multibase
May 20th, 2006, 9:34am

Hi,

Probably a stupid question, but...

I am going to be using BAL Multibase as a base for the tiles I am gioing to install on my bathroom floor, to set an underfloor heating mat into.  (This was recommended by JasonB in a reply to a post I made quite a while ago).  

As I've never used this stuff before, I have no idea what consistency it is going to be when laying it.  As my tiling will end once it gets past the bath panel, I want to know if I will need to use some sort of batten to hold the edge of the Multibase until it sets.  If it's going to be really runny, it would otherwise run out of the required area and under the bath!

Also, should I lay enough to just cover the surface of the heating mat, or build it up a bit thicker?  This is going on top of Aquapanel concrete sheets, by the way.

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

jasonB
Re: BAL Multibase
Reply #1 - May 20th, 2006, 1:32pm

It's worth making a "dam" as by its very nature the leveling compound will flow to its own level. You only need a scrap of batten tacked to the floor or wedged from the underside of the bath.

It is possible to alter the consistancy by varying the amount of water but as it's your first time measure out the correct amount stated on the bag. If you are using the mat backed coil it helps to keep the mix runny, you can get away with a thicker mix if it's just the loose wire being used.

The aquapanel will not suck the water out as fast as if you were laying onto ply so the multibase will flow further.