Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 2:08pm
Quote: How do you tell when you're out of invisible ink?

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Wiring a D.O.L starter (Read 92471 times)
superunknown
GDPR opt-out

Wiring a D.O.L starter
Sep 2nd, 2007, 9:53am

Hi, this is my first time here.

I hope somebody might be able to advise me how to wire a single phase dol starter switch with Thermal Overload Relay?

I have searched online for a diagram but am yet to find anything that makes sense to me.

Thank you Smiley

IP Logged

Lectrician
Administrator
Trade Member
Author

Ask The Trades

Total Thanks: 108
For This Post: 0

Braunton, North Devon, United Kingdom
Braunton, North Devon
United Kingdom

Trade: Electrician

Re: Wiring a D.O.L starter
Reply #1 - Sep 2nd, 2007, 12:58pm

They generally come with some instructions - have you got one that has none?

First of all, as its single phase, make sure you get a 240v coil version.

Quick pic below:

The coil is on terminals A1 and A2, and is not polarity important.

There is a hold on contact (usually) hidden behind the green push button, or the green push button actually presses this hidden contact in.

If you want additional start and stop buttons, the green start button is wired in parallel across the current green button, and the red stop buttons are wired in series after the current stop button.  You can simply run three cores to a remote start/stop station, as the bottom of the green and top of the red are obviously commoned up.

There will usually also be a set of contacts which close if the overload trips, and these are used to signal to a red 'tripped' light or alarm etc.

You will notice that the third pole of the contactor which would be the htird phase in a three phase setup is being used with a looped neutral - this is considered good practice as the three poles are all monitored for overcurrent.
« Last Edit: Sep 2nd, 2007, 1:15pm by Lectrician »