Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 29th, 2024, 12:12pm
Quote: Why do people without a watch look at their wrist when you ask them what time it is?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I NEED FEED BACK (Read 6134 times)
wernhamhere
GDPR opt-out

I NEED FEED BACK
Apr 23rd, 2009, 2:17am

Hello Lads,

I'm a friend of Ben Robinson, whose advice I've sort in asking you guys to give me some feed back and opinion on the following:

I'm setting up a new website (the name can’t be disclosed at the moment) which aims to give sound practical legal and commercial advice to tradesmen and contractors in both the construction and M&E Building Service industry's. The only thing I can say is that the website's motto is "a website created by subby's for subbys'"

My background is predominantly as a self employed M&E quantity surveyor but before I got involved in this, I was a draftsman, a tar-macker, a gardener, a chippy, a lorry driver, a barman and a sh*t stone mason for the council.

The aim of the site is to give subby's practical help, advice and support from like minded people on the day to day problems you'd encounter when working for contractors on building sites around the country, no matter what size the contract is.

The reason why I’ve set the site up is because I was sick of contractors getting away with subby bashing the people who actually do all of the work. Therefore, I’m a poacher turned game keeper.

The basic site will give its members insider information the contractors don't want subby's to know about, such as the dodgy stuff they include in contracts. We’ll tell you how to recognize it and what to do with it. We’ll also be giving advice on everything from pre-tender meetings, how to price, submit and agree variations, how to submit applications/invoices and what legal actions you can take for not being paid on time; right the way through to finalizing / signing off your works.