Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Apr 20th, 2024, 12:48am
Quote: 99% of lawyers give the rest a bad name.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
problems with Farrow and Ball Estate Eggshell (Read 34212 times)
zsogabi
GDPR opt-out

problems with Farrow and Ball Estate Eggshell
Aug 22nd, 2010, 8:00pm

Shocked Hi Everyone,

I am a painter for 25 years but I never had such an experience with a woodwork paint. I painted a built in shelving unit in the playroom with Farrow and Ball "off white" Estate Eggshell which is now water based as they are not making the oil based paint for woodwork any more.
It was not bad to work with but not good either, I did not like it though, it did not seem like a serious woodwork paint to me.
The nightmare started when I sanded it after first coat and it changed to a yellow-green on the sanded areas. Well, I applied the second coat anyway and I told the customer that I do not like the way this paint behaves, but she is absolutely convinced that F&B paints are the best ever.
The biggest problem is that the same thing happened to the shelves when they started using them, the paint is simply changing its color when exposed to the tiniest abrasion. I think this water based formula is too soft, even after 3 weeks it is dry but it is not hard, like you would still expect it to set, but how long would you have to wait then before you use a freshly painted area?  
She has 2 chairs painted in the same F&B color and they do not have the same reaction to abrasion, probably that was the oil based formula. She also has other woodwork in the house painted with F&B with no problems and now she thinks it is my fault.
Has anyone experienced any similar problems? I am very upset because she is keeping my money until the company will analyze the case, when I know for sure that there is no way that this is my fault.