Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 12:59pm
Quote: The hardness of the butter is proportional to the softness of the bread

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
which new electric heating system (Read 27605 times)
lucylocket222
GDPR opt-out

which new electric heating system
Dec 12th, 2011, 9:41pm

Hi can anybody help and advise me.  Ihave just bought an ex council flat that has old storage heaters in.  As I want my daughter to use the flat I want to try and get the cheapest electric heating system there is on the market.  There is no gas into the building so I have to use electric.  Can you please advise me as I am new to this.  Lucylocket

IP Logged

Lectrician
Administrator
Trade Member
Author

Ask The Trades

Total Thanks: 108
For This Post: 0

Braunton, North Devon, United Kingdom
Braunton, North Devon
United Kingdom

Trade: Electrician

Re: which new electric heating system
Reply #1 - Dec 12th, 2011, 9:59pm

Storage heaters, while appearing outdated, are the cheapest form electrical heating for the main living spaces, supplemented with electric panel convector heaters in the bedrooms, and perhaps an electric towel rail, downflow heater or underfloor heating in the bathroom.

Storage heaters should be used in conjuction with an economy 7 type tarriff which provides cheap electricity during the night.  This would also be utilised to heat a tank of water too - A tank with two immersions, one at the bottom connected to the off peak supply, and the top element used as a boost, connected to the 24hr peak supply.

There are also electric flow boilers which are plumbed in a traditional way with standard radiators.  Their warm up time is not great.  They need to be used with an economy 10 type tarrif.

Need to post a picture? Click HERE for info!
Thank User For This Post WWW View members image gallery  
IP Logged

CWatters

"Daddy fick it" says James

Total Thanks: 58

Reply #2 - Dec 13th, 2011, 8:31am