Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 28th, 2024, 10:25pm
Quote: Where exactly are the four corners of the earth?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Have I bitten off more than I can chew (Read 6545 times)
DevilIsInTheDetail
GDPR opt-out

Have I bitten off more than I can chew
Aug 13th, 2013, 9:53pm

So I've started this because I think I may have bitten off more than I can chew.  After an argument with the other half we've decided that we can't work together on home projects and have decided to take a project each.  We're not allowed to influence the decision of the other half.  She has taken the bedroom which needs the ensuite removing and the builders are coming in and I have the bathroom.  I however have been true to form more cocky and said that I could do it all myself without any professional (paid for) help.  The problem is that although I am quite handy I have very little experience in bathroom fitting and I am a procrastinator and want the very best product for the budget that my meagre wage dictates.  Apparently i'm allowed trades in for essential work... boiler stuff and building regs etc.  What have I got myself in to.  So I'm going to need some help and found this forum... which so far is helpful but I'm gunna ask a load of questions on here.  First question.... MDF in the bathroom... really?  I want to do some wood panelling around part of the room and have seen mixed replies, you see i'm leaning towards oak but the cost????

IP Logged

woodsmith
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 135
For This Post: 1

Trade: Joiner

Re: Have I bitten off more than I can chew
Reply #1 - Aug 14th, 2013, 8:39am

As long as you get moisture resistant MDF and it doesn't get soaking wet it will be fine. In fact it will probably be easier to use than oak because wood moves with changes in moisture content which is affected by humidity so can be a big problem in a bathroom.