Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 18th, 2024, 3:16pm
Quote: My doctor told me to stop having intimate dinners for four. Unless there are three other people - Orson Welles

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
computer prob (Read 9179 times)
Raptor
GDPR opt-out

computer prob
Feb 18th, 2005, 12:28am

Can anyone tell me why in the last week or so i can`t access some sites,as soon as i get connected to them internet explorer either closes instantly and screen goes back to desktop,or a box comes up saying I.E has an error and needs to close .Some of the sites i have been using for several years and had no probs before.I have checked system for viruses and spyware and both Norton and Macafee show nothing obvious.It`s doing my head in.

IP Logged

Dewy
GDPR opt-out

Re: computer prob
Reply #1 - Feb 18th, 2005, 1:22am

IE may have lost some files so try repairing Internet Explorer.
Go to Start/Menu/Programs/Accessories/System Tools/System Information.
Click Tools at the top then Internet Explorer Repair Tool.

IP Logged

CWatters

"Daddy fick it" says James

Total Thanks: 58
For This Post: 0

Reply #2 - Feb 18th, 2005, 10:06am

Yes what Dewy said. Different sites use different features of IE.

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

Raptor
Reply #3 - Feb 19th, 2005, 11:28pm

Cannot find internet explorer repair tool where you said,am on XP if that makes any difference.

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

Dewy
Reply #4 - Feb 20th, 2005, 1:51am

If I remember right you repair IE in XP by going to Add/Remove programs in the Control Panel and try to remove Internet Explorer.
It wont let you remove it so repairs it instead.
« Last Edit: Feb 20th, 2005, 1:51am by Dewy »  
Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

HM

Chief Turd Polisher

Total Thanks: 0

Reply #5 - Feb 20th, 2005, 1:58pm

[quote author=Dewy  link=1108689288/0#4 date=1108864272]It wont let you remove it so repairs it instead. [/quote]