Quote: They didn't know it was impossible, so they did it - Mark Twain

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Clean Up? (Read 2197 times)
WiZ3R
GDPR opt-out

Clean Up?
Sep 27th, 2007, 8:37am

I invested in a 1.5" Purdy Monarch Brush yesterday and for the first time took care to clean thoroughly.  As an amateur I saw paint brushes and rollers as throw away.  But spending £10 on one brush got me thinking how the pros clean up.  I washed the Purdy in white spirit and water and it seemed to be fine.

I also had a 'glosser' roller to clean and used white spirit on this.  It is a short pile roller so cleaned up well.  From memory rollers are a nightmare to clean.  I dread splashing out on a lamb/sheeps wool roller only for it to br rock hard after one use.  What's the procedure here?

I went through a hell of a lot of White Spirit.  Over 2l.  Is this normal?

We had a pro painter in our old house a few years ago and I seem to remember he was very clean and tidy.  Unlike the carnage in our kitchen sink last night Wink

IP Logged

corablimey
GDPR opt-out

Re: Clean Up?
Reply #1 - Sep 27th, 2007, 8:30pm

TBH I never clean glossing roller sleeves, I only use the oldest scruffiest sleeve I have, specially when I have to undercoat a ceiling for example, so I just throw the sleeve away, as the amount of white spirit you use to clean them can end up costing more than the actual sleeve. Shocked

I use the lambs wool for emulsioning a textured paper, and the medium pile for a flatter finish on a wall.

I keep my roller in a couple of plastic carrier bags, specially the white, when I have finished with the white roller, I place the whole roller in a carrier bag, wrap some masking tape round the handle, then I put that in another plastic carrier bag, also the emulsion brush as well.