Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 18th, 2024, 6:12pm
Quote: Half the people you know are below average.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Insulate an outside wall? (Read 6168 times)
TrevorP

Ask The Trades

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Insulate an outside wall?
Jan 16th, 2014, 2:39pm

Hi, I am in need of some advise.

In my loft, which I am in process of fitting top-up insulation, I have one of the gable end walls which is externally boarded, then battened and then rough screeded. Internally there is no insulation and boarding.

My question is, as this has been like this for around 20yrs, should I leave well alone, or is it wise to install insulation and board over?

I am no expert but I thought that with the secondary insulation now being fitted this may cause some heat in loft space and cause condensation, and as I cannot see any vents thought insulating and board over the better plan.
Appreciate your thoughts on which way to go, as I am unsure.

Cheers
Trevor

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

CWatters

"Daddy fick it" says James

Total Thanks: 58

Re: Insulate an outside wall?
Reply #1 - Jan 17th, 2014, 6:46am

Is the loft insulation between the rafters or the joists?

If it's between the joists then the loft should be ventilated. Usually at the eaves. Ventilation trays/tunnels should be installed to stop the ventilation being blocked by the insulation. Insulating the gable wall won't make much difference.

If the insulation is between the rafters then the loft should not be ventilated and yes the gable wall should be insulated.

IP Logged

TrevorP

Ask The Trades

Reply #2 - Jan 17th, 2014, 9:18am

Thanks for coming back, and no the insulation does go over and cover the soffits.  Have had a good look round and can see no vents in the soffit anywhere.