Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Mar 19th, 2024, 6:47am
Quote: You can keep quiet & let everyone think you're a fool or you can speak and confirm their thoughts.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Keen newbie trying to build a small artist's study (Read 5407 times)
Drawingboard
GDPR opt-out

Keen newbie trying to build a small artist's study
Jul 20th, 2014, 5:03pm

Hi everyone,

I have a very small bedroom that I would like to turn into a custom built study. I was looking at buying Ikea bookshelves and perhaps adapting them to purpose, but given I would rather have something that is properly built to my needs as a digital artist, I think I may have to do a proper job.

I have made a first stab at designing the desk, cupboards and shelves as shown here:

I'm essentially looking for advice on what materials I should use. I've defaulted to MDF Caberlite Panel 25 x 2440 x 1220mm cut down to size by whoever I can get to provide it. I would have preferred real wood, but I need quite deep shelving for my paper stock and equipment and after asking a timber yard, I could barely get half the depth of shelving that I need. I also selected 25mm because I have a lot of heavy books that need housing.

I can be quite handy, but I've never taken on a project this size as this is my first house that hasn't been rented.

Has anyone got any guidance or advice for a keen noob?

Thanks in advance.

IP Logged

woodsmith
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 135
For This Post: 1

Trade: Joiner

Re: Keen newbie trying to build a small artist's study
Reply #1 - Jul 20th, 2014, 7:24pm

MDF is probably your best material but even 25mm will sag if you put a lot of weight on it. One way to stiffen the shelves is to put an upstand (basically a narrowish 60-70mm piece across the back which you screw and glue in place).