Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Apr 28th, 2024, 7:14am
Quote: The problem with the gene pool is that there is no lifeguard.

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Training (Read 5048 times)
John   Davies
GDPR opt-out

Training
Oct 26th, 2004, 1:14am

My 21 year old son is considering a career as an electrician and is wondering where to start - he is just too old to be an apprentice.  Can anyone suggest the best way into the profession?  

Is he best to get a job as a trainee and study part time, or could he stand a better chance by taking a crash course and then applying for a job?  Can he remain in his present job and do an evening course?  Any views or suggestions?

John Davies

IP Logged

HM

Chief Turd Polisher

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Re: Training
Reply #1 - Oct 26th, 2004, 4:23am

Please take into consideration when reading the following that I am not an electrician. My father was, and I've done a fair amount of electrical work in my time. But that qualifies me for diddly squat in terms of representing the profession.

My view is that to become a competent electrician requires doing the job under the expert tuition of someone who is already qualified. It isn't something I would expect that can be learnt out of a book, so the evening class route alone doesn't sound very practical in this respect. I wouldn't expect a future employer to offer a job based upon academic qualifications only, and indeed I would think an employer might rank practical previous experience higher than any pieces of paper that might have been accumulated.

Sometimes when confronted with an electrical job there is more than one way of providing a solution - it's not always quite as simple as wiring a light switch. And it is that knowledge which can only be imparted by being with someone who can explain why something is done in a particular way for that particular job which is so important.