Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Apr 29th, 2024, 2:18pm
Quote: What happens if you get scared half to death twice?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Installing recessed shower valve (Read 8615 times)
chisel
GDPR opt-out

Installing recessed shower valve
Apr 13th, 2005, 5:39pm

Posted this on the Screwfix forum earlier today but a bit quiet over there and not much feedback, so thought I would see if its any livelier over here ?!!!

I have a Crosswater recessed two outlet shower valve to fit when I refurb our home bathroom.

It's going to be fitted in an external wall (brick/cavity/block) which I have to chase out, but I am not entirely sure how to secure the valve in place once the recess is made.

The instructions are a bit lacking and because I'm not a pro and haven't fitted one before (although done a lot of other plumbing over the years) I didn't want to learn the hard way and screw it up !

The depth of mounting in the recess appears to be pretty critical so that the flush mounting surface plate and controls fit over the tiling afterwards.

Not sure whether to line some of the sides of the recess, or the inside face of the external brick skin, with timber and fasten to this (damp bridging problem possibly if fastened to external brick skin?), or whether just to rest the weight of the valve on the bottom of the recess ?

Also haven't thought yet how to fill/cover the pipe chases prior to tiling so any guidance on that would be appreciated also.

Many thanks,

IP Logged

jasonB
GDPR opt-out

Re: Installing recessed shower valve
Reply #1 - Apr 13th, 2005, 5:59pm

I usually fit Trevi mixers, they make a special bracket for mounting their mixers in cavity walls, may be worth contacting Crosswaters to see if they make one.

Pipes will need to be sleeved to stop damage by cement or use plastic pipe.

Jason
« Last Edit: Apr 13th, 2005, 5:59pm by jasonB »  

IP Logged

JerryD
GDPR opt-out

Reply #2 - Apr 13th, 2005, 7:23pm