Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 4th, 2024, 5:14pm
Quote: The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax - Albert Einstein

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Chimney Breast Removal (Read 10524 times)
Bayden_Rank
GDPR opt-out

Chimney Breast Removal
Jan 30th, 2006, 10:02am

My son has been persuaded by his future in-laws to remove the chimney breast.  Future FIL and also BIL have removed them in similar houses on the same ('50's) development with allegedly no problems.  I have urged caution but think he will go ahead. NB: Neither of these folk are builders by trade or training.

His future FIL removed one up to just above first floor ceiling level and used a a timber lintel(?) under the remaining chimney [that still carried on through the roof].  He claimed that many years after there had been no movement of the remaining bit of chimney as he was able to move the wedges he had put in place between bricks and the timber.

It worries the hell out of me and I have done a bit of DIY wall removal in the past but was always wary of chimneys.

Any advice really welcome.  Thankfully he lives about 10 miles away so I will not be hit, unless visiting, should it fall ???

IP Logged

big_all
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

heeelllooo

Total Thanks: 10
For This Post: 0

Trade: Joiner

Re: Chimney Breast Removal
Reply #1 - Jan 30th, 2006, 10:18am

no builder but

if you can remove the wedges its not supporting anything

also believe the support should be fairly constant accross the width off the chimney and back towards the wall as in corbled or gallows brackets

if it was wedges tight what is the wooden beam resting on!!!!!

big all ---------------  we are all still learning
Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

Bayden_Rank
Reply #2 - Jan 30th, 2006, 10:23am

[quote author=big_all  link=1138615324/0#1 date=1138616332]