Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 4th, 2024, 7:26am
Quote: My mechanic told me, "I couldn't repair your brakes, so I made your horn louder."

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
painting & knotting (Read 3192 times)
raf
GDPR opt-out

painting & knotting
Jun 13th, 2007, 4:36pm

Hello all... my 1st post in this section and im sure to cover many sections on this forum as ive just bought my 1st house and im decorating parts of it as and when i can.

now reading a few threads in this section its appears there is a hell of alot more to painting than i thought  Shocked so i guess i'll make my self comfortable....

skirtings & doors etc: in the house they've been painted white gloss but are a bit gritty in places, drips (i hate drips and im a novice) a few brush hairs.... not a good finish.

so what do you peeps recommend; shall i sand down till smooth... do i put a primer on (if so which one?), undercoat then a top coat? do i sand between these coats?

also i read something about knotting and bleeding; can someone explain what this is please so i can avoid the errors of many.

thanks all

IP Logged

TIMBA-WOLF
Board Moderator

Timba-Wolf..... Var@*sh,
should be banned!!

Total Thanks: 15
For This Post: 0

KENT,(under a tree!!!!), United Kingdom
KENT,(under a tree!!!!)
United Kingdom

Trade: Joiner

Re: painting & knotting
Reply #1 - Jun 14th, 2007, 12:47am

Right firstly RAF, welcome to this here forum, and i hope you enjoy the help and advise, .. you have started off in the right way, by asking questions... after all we are here to help! , and remember...
"THE ONLY SILLY QUESTION IS THE ONE YOU DO NOT ASK!!"

Congrates on your 1st home!!!!

right business time....