Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
Apr 18th, 2024, 7:28pm
Quote: I hate being bi-polar...its Brilliant!!!!

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Loft conversions (Read 5586 times)
mailee
GDPR opt-out

Loft conversions
Jul 12th, 2004, 10:47pm

Can any of you guys tell me what is involved with loft conversions?. I know you need planning permission and possibly buidling regs, but just exactly what is involved with the woodwork side of it, Roof trusses, stairs, joists etc. and how about the windows in the roof?. Would appresiate any info you can give. Is it a DIY project or do you have to have a reputable joiner/builder to do the work?.  ???

IP Logged

HM

Chief Turd Polisher

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Re: Loft conversions
Reply #1 - Jul 12th, 2004, 11:00pm

I have no experience so the following is just what I understand.

You'll need to get building regs approval, that will probably involve an architect drawing up plans. You may well need to get a building company involved 'cos these loft conversions aren't generally DIYable.

There are a couple of issues that come to mind:

1) trusses in the loft are probably not going to be strong enough to support a proper floor, and may need strengthening. This may involve putting some extra support brackets on the side walls to take the extra truss thickness.

2) If this is to be habitable space you get into a whole new ballgame about providing a staircase which provides an adequate escape route in the event of fire. You can't make do with a simple loft ladder.

Andrew
« Last Edit: Jul 12th, 2004, 11:01pm by HM »  

If you aren't always sure of the right answer don't take up a career in the bomb squad
Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

Robbo
Reply #2 - Jul 12th, 2004, 11:21pm