Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 21st, 2024, 1:57pm
Quote: Why is it one careless match can start a forest fire, but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New connection (Read 3798 times)
tank90

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

New connection
Feb 15th, 2005, 10:36pm

I Have just been renovating a small cottage that is semi-detached. The half I have been renovating has not been occupied for 30 years but the other half is and hence has mains power. I have asked the electricty board (Central Networks) for a new connection they have given me a quote saying they need to install a bigger transformer (at a cost of £5,000). The cottage is in a rural location with the current transformer mounted on a pole that serves the occupied half. The cottage is to be heated by a dual boiler to provide hot water and central heating (9kW model). Surely the existing transformer can provide power for 2 small 2 bedroom cottages. Does anyone know what rating the transformers come in 12kW, 24kW...
Thanks in advance.

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

LSpark
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 3

London, UK, United Kingdom
London, UK
United Kingdom

Trade: Electrician

Re: New connection
Reply #1 - Feb 15th, 2005, 11:51pm

I couldn’t say specifics without knowing about the transformer, but the chances are that it really cannot handle the extra demand on it...

Transformers in these rural area's often are paid for by the people who need the supply, or at least part of the cost, and the REC are not likely to fit anything much bigger than it needs to be

I would say that I'm not at all surprised by what they have said..

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

plugwash
Administrator

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Trade: Not Specified

Reply #2 - Feb 16th, 2005, 12:42am

this is one of the bigger shams in the way leccy distribution works.