Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 21st, 2024, 10:06pm
Quote: Nothing is illegal if one hundred well-placed business men decide to do it -Andrew Young

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Consumer Isolator (Read 4954 times)
wozzer

The Jurassic Spark

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Consumer Isolator
Mar 20th, 2005, 2:38pm

I'm a qualified Electrician. I did an EITB apprentiship and full City & Guilds etc. I also hold C&G 16th Edition. I don't normally do domestic installs, hence the (probably) stupid questions: I'm currently finishing some extensive building work. I'm replacing the CU and re-wiring a large part of the bungalow.
Q1) Am I ok to fit a 100A Consumer Isolator inbetween the Supply authority cut-out and the new CU?
Q2) Do I have to ask before I pull the authority fuse?
Q3) I started the work in November 2004, Before Part P came in. Can I test it myself (I have access to all required test kit) and fill out a cert as published in the 16th edition, or do I need an Inspection/test by someone else?

Thank User For This Post 22,CARRIAGE+DRIVE,+BIDDULPH View members image gallery  
IP Logged

LSpark
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 3

London, UK, United Kingdom
London, UK
United Kingdom

Trade: Electrician

Re: Consumer Isolator
Reply #1 - Mar 20th, 2005, 3:58pm

[quote author=wozzer  link=1111329495/0#0 date=1111329495]Q1) Am I ok to fit a 100A Consumer Isolator inbetween the Supply authority cut-out and the new CU? [/quote]
No, that would be on the supply side, you may only add on the consumer's side which is after the supplier's meter

Quote:
Q2) Do I have to ask before I pull the authority fuse?

You should consult them, but if you have no otherway to isolate the supply then you should pull the fuse, it's not legal to work live unless there are strictly no other options

Quote: