Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 6th, 2024, 12:24am
Quote: I hate being bi-polar...its Brilliant!!!!

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Renovating a painted chest of drawers (Read 6746 times)
UpsyDaisy08
GDPR opt-out

Renovating a painted chest of drawers
Nov 11th, 2008, 11:54am

Hi

Am a complete novice to all this so here goes!  I received a painted wooden chest of drawers.

Can someone tell me if I can just paint over the paint that is on there to spruce it up?  

And also if I fancied removing the paint and making it look all lovely in its wooden glory how would I do it???

Thanks

IP Logged

Sandy

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Re: Renovating a painted chest of drawers
Reply #1 - Nov 11th, 2008, 6:44pm

I've done a few renovation works for my own furniture, doors & chairs. When I started, I looked around for ages to see what options there were, and it basically boiled down to:

Take it somewhere for "dipping and stripping" - Which is essentially dunking the said item in some ridiculously strong paint/varnish remover. Down side = I have been informed and have seen myself, is that the joints can shrink and fail, meaning you might end up having to do some repair work. It can also leave the wood dry and lifeless. Upside = someone else strips the item for you and quicker than you.

Another option (although d4mn time consuming!!) is to get a hot air gun and heat strip the paint, sand the item right back to bare wood and start again. Downside = the time it takes to do. Upside = If done right, can look superb.

The only other option I can think of is sand any bumps and fill any dents/holes and then re-paint over the sanded surfaces (after wiping them down to remove dust). Downside = might be very obviously a re-paint. Upside = probably the fastest in terms of being able to complete it the quickest.

Hope that gives you an idea.
« Last Edit: Nov 11th, 2008, 6:47pm by Sandy »  
Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged