Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Welcome To Ask The Trades!
May 4th, 2024, 8:03pm
Quote: I hate being bi-polar...its Brilliant!!!!

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Workload for a Novice (Read 10469 times)
theswimmerswimming

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Total Thanks: 0
For This Post: 0

Workload for a Novice
Sep 7th, 2005, 1:32pm

Hi everyone.

I am a novice DIYer.  I am currently considering having a two storey extension built on my house and wondered how much if any of the work I could do to save my very small budget.

For example could I dig and lay the foundations.  I am at the very start of this so I know I would need planning permission, but want to know if there are cuts I can make so that I could afford to go ahead)

any comments would be greatly appreciated

Kind regards
Adrian

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

JerryD
Re: Workload for a Novice
Reply #1 - Sep 7th, 2005, 7:17pm

My advice would be to leave the major works to a professional builder.  If you're short of money then just get the shell built (i.e. totally finished externally, windows and glass in, sealed up) but don't have anything done internally.

You can then diy at your leisure.

btw foundations can be a nightmare if you're inexperienced, cock that up and the rest is a waste of time.

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

theswimmerswimming

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #2 - Sep 8th, 2005, 9:16am

Thanks for the feed back.  

I wasn't really thinking of doing anything technical.  If you say I'm being a bit simplistic about the foundations (I thought it was bascally dig some big holes and partially fill with the right mix), are there any other jobs I could do.  I guess I am wondering does anybody go out to a job where the home owner skivies for you, and if so how much does this really save?

Kind regards

Adrian

Thank User For This Post  
IP Logged

theswimmerswimming

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Reply #3 - Sep 8th, 2005, 9:36am

Sorry One more quick question if possible