Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
part p (Read 25130 times)
jim123
GDPR opt-out

part p
Feb 19th, 2005, 8:33pm

Hi, was looking for some advice.

I’m a 16th edition trained electrician, working in industry.
I have previously helped out family by small installation work sockets lights etc...
I was looking at becoming part p registered, or being able to self-certify my domestic work.
Can you tell me if it would be practical for me to train and register, or would it be too difficult, as I don’t do a lot of domestic work?
Do I need to get my work assessed when getting registered?
Any further info on self-certification, training etc would be appreciated

Thanks

James

IP Logged

LSpark
Global Moderator
Trade Member
Author

Total Thanks: 3
For This Post: 0

London, UK, United Kingdom
London, UK
United Kingdom

Trade: Electrician

Re: part p
Reply #1 - Feb 19th, 2005, 8:50pm

Hello Jim

Minor work's such as additional sockets or light's are considered minor work's and therefore not notifiable, so unless you're changing fuse board's it's not going to be worth you’re while.

If you were looking to join a scheme you will have to do a cost analysis, the schemes all require to see you're work except NAPIT I believe, who will accept you with all the right bit's of paper!

When you say 16th edition trained electrician, I assume that the 16th edition certificate is not you're only training?

The schemes require formal qualification's including 2391 (testing and inspection certificate)

If you don't do allot of domestic work I would advise against it registering as part-p only applies to domestic work

For link's to all the self-certification schemes or for what is and isnt notifiable work see DIY Electrical work & Part P

Thank User For This Post View members image gallery  
IP Logged

jim123
Reply #2 - Feb 19th, 2005, 8:57pm

Hey thanks for the reply.
No the 16th isn’t my only training, I’m time served in electrical maintenance and installation...